It’s been quiet around here…

It’s been pretty quiet around here… The reason why? I’ve been writing like the wind, just not on this blog. It was NaNoWriMo! And I have to say, I think this was the best one I’ve ever had! I’ve only won a proper NaNoWriMo once before, It was when I wrote my novel Confidence The Diary of an Invisible Girl, and to be honest, that journal though filled with tall peaks, also had some pretty low valleys. I wrote like crazy just to get to the end. As a result, I ended up with a story a really love.

Though I definitely had some “tear my hair out” moments during last month. November was a hard month for a lot of us. But overall went really well. I think that has a lot to do with the community I found here in Orlando. Magic happens when you enter a room of writers who are frantically typing on their keyboards. ❤ It motivated you to write faster, better, and not to give up. And in the event that you’re starting to lose steam, you have a support group of people who can cheer you on when you’re down and give you that extra push. I was reminded over and over again that this was not a month for editing, and that alone was enough to make my fingers fly across my keyboard. nanowrimo_2016_webbanner_winnerThe rough draft I’ve been working on has the working title of “Broom Mates” and followed a group of three teen witches who are expelled from magic school and banished to Portland OR for the summer. It was really fun seeing where the characters wanted to take me. One thing I didn’t expect? For all of them to start falling in love! With mortals? With each other? With EVERYONE?! Time, editing, and revisions will tell. It’s going to be around 20k more words until my draft is finished. But I’m so proud of getting as far as I have. It has a beginning, middle, and end, lots of plotlines to tie up, and I’ll be writing through December till I’m finished. I think I’m finally going to take a whirl at creative streams on twitch. I’ll be missing all of the lifestreams that happened during November, and think it would be pretty neat to host some virtual write-ins for those who are feeling the same.

It’s either going to be Monday or Tuesday around noon, I’ll keep you posted through social media, and hopefully, It will be a lot of fun! I’ll probably be a little nervous so it would be nice to see some familiar faces there.

Anyways, that’s all for now, I’ll talk to you again soon!

Keep telling your stories, and whether you hit 50k or not this month, treat yourself to a fancy new notebook, cupcake, or latte. You earned it!

xo Paige

 

Leave a Reply

